Local Committee Awards

Local Committee of the Year Award

The WUSC Local Committee of the Year Award is awarded by the WUSC Board of Directors to recognize the recent contribution of a student or group of students who have demonstrated commitment to international development. This award is presented at the International Forum Awards Soirée.

WUSC Campus Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2016 WUSC Campus Awards! Three WUSC Campus Awards celebrate the achievements of outstanding WUSC Local Committees across the country. Local Committees are invited to submit their nomination for one or more of the award categories. Nominations will be accepted until Sunday January 8th 2017. Please follow the instructions in the Nomination Form.


Event of the Year: For a Local Committee (LC) event (or series of events) that distinguished itself through its scope, ingenuity and substantial contribution to WUSC’s public education advocacy efforts.

Outstanding Contribution to the SRP: For an LC that has demonstrated strong and consistent commitment to the Student Refugee Program and the relevant SRP students.

Committee on the Rise: For a new (or recently revived) LC with outstanding achievement in increasing their presence.



Past Winners:

Local Committee of the Year:


Vancouver Island University: This Local Committee may be from a smaller city and a smaller campus, but there is nothing small about the level of engagement and enthusiasm of this LC. The passionate and talented members of VIU have put on several events over the year in support of the SRP and also of WUSC’s Shine-A-Light campaign for girl refugees’ education. They have mobilized their campus and community for bike ambulances in Malawi through our Bike 4 Aids campaign and they have raised awareness of development issues in their region of the country.

Click here for more past winners.

WUSC Campus Awards:


Event of the year: University of Guelph (Guelph, ON)

Committee on the Rise: Mount Saint Vincent  University (Halifax, NS)


Outstanding contribution to Student Refugee Program (SRP): Acadia University (Wolfville, NS)

Committee on the rise: Vancouver Island University (Vancouver, BC)

Event of the year: Wilfred Laurier University (Waterloo, ON)


Outstanding contribution to SRP: University of Guelph

Committee on the rise: University of Laurier-Brantford

Event of the year: University of Regina

Best Media Engagement Award: Laurentian University