Botswana

Botswana has one of the highest HIV prevalence rates in Sub-Saharan Africa, to address this challenge, WUSC‘s program has focused on strengthening national-level NGOs to provide more inclusive, improved and increased HIV and AIDS services, to increase the integration of equality between women and men and to engage in policy dialogue for the benefit of disadvantaged or marginalized communities. WUSC has been working in Botswana since 1980, strengthening the capacity of local organizations, government departments as well as individuals in their efforts to contribute more effectively to the development of the country and the social welfare of the population.

Our Impact: 

Botswana has grown from one of the poorest countries in the world at independence in 1966 to an upper middle income country. Despite this growth, Botswana has struggled to develop sufficient human resource capacity to meet the needs of an economically growing country. This is where WUSC has had an impact. Since 1980, our programming has been directed towards developing a sustainable trained work force for the country. In 1982, WUSC helped establish the University of Botswana (UB) so the country could begin to train its own engineers, managers and leaders. Where there were gaps in degree programs that UB couldn’t offer, WUSC managed students who came to Canada to complete their university and college education and return to positions of influence in government, civil society and the private sector. Most recently, WUSC has been involved in the design and foundation of Botswana’s second university, the Botswana International University of Science and Technology.  

Unfortunately, the biggest single challenge to Botswana’s human resource development has been the devastating impact of HIV and AIDS. WUSC has responded by working with many of the nascent civil society organizations to support the government’s response and to give a strong voice for the rights of people living with and affected by HIV and AIDS. This has resulted in a coordinated approach to caring for people living with the virus and keeping them, whenever possible, in the workforce contributing to the country’s development.

By supporting the establishment of Botswana’s two universities, helping to train over 1500 individuals and building the capacity of over 30 government, non-governmental and private sector organizations, WUSC has contributed significantly to make Botswana what it is today.

What We're Learning: 

Botswana is one of the few countries in Sub-Saharan Africa where the government has the means to provide universal services - in education and health in particular – to almost the entire population. While this is a generally a positive thing, it does create a form of dependency on the government that hinders the growth and support of civil society organizations. It is important for NGOs to be responsive to the needs of their district level members in order to maintain relevance and address the inevitable gaps left by the government response.

The response to the HIV and AIDS epidemic in Botswana has been impressive, but with many different agencies working through different donors, there was too much duplication. WUSC is ensuring that its work remains relevant and appropriate by working closely with the National Aids Coordinating Agency and other national level partnership groups.  In partnership with other local and international organizations, WUSC helps strengthen the technical competence and organizational capacity of Botswana’s national non-governmental organizations and networks to improve the delivery of high quality HIV/AIDS services.

The training of human resources either through overseas scholarships or in-country university and college programs is an expensive but necessary process for a developing country. The key to success is ensuring that the trained students are meeting the labour market needs in Botswana. WUSC is looking at ways of supporting the new Human Resource Development Council in Botswana to better track employment statistics for graduated government-sponsored students.

 

Resources

Tapping into Batswana TertiaryYouth’s Knowledge andPerceptions of HIV/AIDS toDesign a Prevention Strategy

Tags: Africa

Botswana

Le Botswana a l’un des taux de prévalence du VIH les plus élevés de l’Afrique sub-saharienne. Pour relever ce défi, le programme de l’EUMC s’est concentré sur le renforcement des ONG au niveau national pour fournir des services plus inclusifs, améliorés et accrus de lutte contre le VIH et le sida, pour accroître l’intégration de l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes et pour s’engager dans un dialogue sur les politiques au profit des collectivités défavorisées ou marginalisées. L’EUMC œuvre au Botswana depuis 1980 en renforçant la capacité des organismes locaux, des ministères gouvernementaux ainsi que des particuliers dans leurs efforts visant à contribuer plus efficacement au développement du pays et du bien-être social de la population.

Notre impact: 

Le Botswana est passé d’un des pays les plus pauvres du monde lors de son indépendance en 1966 à un pays à revenu moyen-supérieur. Malgré cette croissance, le Botswana s’est battu en vue de développer une capacité suffisante en matière de ressources humaines pour répondre aux besoins d’un pays en croissance économique. C’est là que l’EUMC a eu un impact. Depuis 1980, notre programmation a été orientée vers le perfectionnement d’une main d’œuvre qualifiée durable pour le pays. En 1982, l’EUMC a contribué à mettre sur pied l’Université du Botswana (UB) afin que le pays puisse commencer à former ses propres ingénieurs, gestionnaires et leaders. Lorsqu’il y avait des lacunes dans les programmes menant à un grade que l’UB ne pouvait pas offrir, l’EUMC gérait les étudiants qui arrivaient au Canada pour achever leurs études universitaires et collégiales et ensuite repartir occuper des postes influents au sein du gouvernement, de la société civile et du secteur privé. Plus récemment, l’EUMC a été impliquée dans la conception et la fondation de la seconde université du Botswana, l’Université internationale des sciences et de la technologie du Botswana. 

Malheureusement, le plus grand défi du perfectionnement des ressources humaines du Botswana a été l’impact dévastateur du VIH et du sida. L’EUMC a réagi en collaborant avec bon nombre des organismes de la société civile naissante pour appuyer la réaction du gouvernement et pour donner une voix forte en vue d’affirmer les droits des peuples touchés et affectés par le VIH et le sida. Il en est résulté une approche coordonnée des soins aux personnes vivant avec le virus et pour les maintenir, dans la mesure du possible, dans la main d’œuvre active contribuant au développement du pays.

En appuyant la mise sur pied des deux universités du Botswana, en aidant à former plus de 1 500 particuliers et en renforçant la capacité de plus de 30 organismes gouvernementaux, non gouvernementaux et du secteur privé, l’EUMC a contribué énormément à faire du Botswana ce qu’il est aujourd’hui.

Ce que nous apprenons: 

Le Botswana est l’un des rares pays de l’Afrique sub-saharienne où le gouvernement a les moyens de fournir des services universels – tout particulièrement en éducation et en santé – à presque toute la population. Même s’il s’agit généralement d’une chose positive, cela crée une forme de dépendance vis-à-vis du gouvernement qui entrave la croissance et le soutien des organismes de la société civile. Il est important pour les ONG de répondre aux besoins des membres afin de conserver leur pertinence et de s’attaquer aux lacunes inévitables laissées par la réaction du gouvernement.

Maatla (mot setswana pour « force »)

La réaction à l’épidémie de VIH et de sida au Botswana a été impressionnante mais, avec une multitude d’agences travaillant par l’entremise de donateurs différents, il y a eu trop de duplication. L’EUMC s’assure que son travail demeure pertinent et adéquat en collaborant étroitement avec la National Aids Coordinating Agency et les autres groupes de partenaires au niveau national.  En partenariat avec les autres organismes locaux et internationaux, l’EUMC contribue à renforcer la compétence technique et la capacité organisationnelle des organisations et des réseaux non gouvernementaux nationaux du Botswana en vue d’améliorer la prestation de services de haute qualité en matière de VIH/sida.

Le perfectionnement des ressources humaines par l’entremise de bourses d’études outre-mer ou de programmes universitaires et collégiaux dans le pays est un processus coûteux mais nécessaire pour un pays en développement. La clé du succès consiste à s’assurer que les étudiants formés répondent aux besoins du marché du travail au Botswana. L’EUMC est à la recherche de façons d’appuyer le nouveau Conseil de développement des ressources humaines au Botswana pour mieux suivre les statistiques d’emploi des étudiants diplômés parrainés par le gouvernement.

Tags: Afrique